Advancing the Science

Mayo Clinic Medical Science Blog

Awards Archive

June 23rd, 2015 · 2 Comments

Mayo Psychiatrists Honored For Depression, Bipolar Research

By Bob Nellis

Two Mayo Clinic psychiatrists have been recognized for their contributions to the study, diagnosis, and treatment of depression and bipolar disorder. Paul Croarkin, D.O., and Mark Frye, M.D., were both presented with the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance’s (DBSA) highest honors for members of the scientific community: Gerald L. Klerman Awards. The Klerman awards are […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: bipolar disorder, depression research, Klerman Award, Mark Frye, Mayo Clinic, Paul Croarkin, psychiatry

May 14th, 2015 · Leave a Comment

Mayo Medical School Student Soyun Hwang Chosen for Fellowship with Howard Hughes Medical Institute

By Bob Nellis

A second-year student at Mayo Medical School — Soyun (S. Michelle) Hwang — has been selected by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI)   to receive a year-long fellowship to conduct mentored biomedical research.   Hwang will be mentoring at Mayo Clinic with Jennifer Westendorf, Ph.D., in orthopedic surgery. She will purse her interest in reconstructive surgery, which […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: HHMI, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Jennifer Westendorf, Mayo Clinic, Mayo Medical School

April 21st, 2015 · 1 Comment

Richard Joseph, M.D., Named Doctor of the Year by Melanoma International Foundation

By Bob Nellis

Richard Joseph, M.D., an oncologist specializing in melanoma at Mayo Clinic’s Florida campus, has been named the 2015 recipient of the “Doctor of the Year Award” presented by the Melanoma International Foundation (MIF). Founded in 2003, MIF is a non-profit organization whose vision is a future where top-notch melanoma treatment is accessible to all patients […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: doctor of the year, Florida, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center, Mayo Clinic Florida, Melanoma, richard joseph

April 21st, 2015 · Leave a Comment

Mayo Clinic Designated as an AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Center

By Elizabeth Zimmermann Young

Continuing more than a century of health care delivery research and innovation In December, Mayo Clinic’s Evidence-Based Practice Research Program received a highly-competitive designation by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), naming Mayo Clinic one of only 13 Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs) in North America. The EPC program was launched in the 1990’s […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: AHRQ, evidence-based practice, Hassan Murad, KER Unit, kern center, meta analysis, Research, Science of health care delivery, systematic review, Victor Montori, Zhen Wang

February 6th, 2015 · Leave a Comment

Dr. Mark Allen to head Society of Thoracic Surgeons

By Bob Nellis

Mayo Clinic thoracic surgeon Mark S. Allen, M.D., has been elected president of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons during the society’s annual meeting in San Diego. Dr. Allen is a professor of surgery at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. His research at Mayo includes serving as principal investigator for a study examining whether removing all […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: Dr Mark Allen, society of thoracic surgeons, Surgery

December 9th, 2014 · Leave a Comment

nuSURF Students Best Advocates for Science

By Bob Nellis

Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships are awarded every year to deserving students who are interested in exploring specific topics in research. The goal, in addition to learning alongside professional medical researchers, is to determine if the students are truly interested in persuing research as a career. The students do everything a scientist does, including presenting findings […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: Matthew Clark PhD, Research, science education, Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows, SURF

August 26th, 2014 · Leave a Comment

Michael Sarr, M.D. Honored by College of Surgeons

By Bob Nellis

Mayo Clinic gastroenterologic surgeon and scientist Michael Sarr, M.D., is being honored by the American College of Surgeons for his research contributions, surgical expertise and mentorship of the next generation of surgical leaders. The ACS Committee for the Forum on Fundamental Surgical Problems has dedicated the new volume of the Surgical Forum to Dr. Sarr […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: American College of Surgeons, awards, honors, Michael Sarr, surgical research

July 22nd, 2014 · Leave a Comment

Dr. Younkin Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

By Bob Nellis

Presenting some new Alzheimer’s discoveries wasn’t the only high point for Mayo Clinic researchers in Copenhagen recently at the Alzheimer’s Association International Conference. On July 14 Steven Younkin, M.D., Ph.D., was awarded the Khalid Iqbal Lifetime Achievement Award for his years of research on the disease. Dr. Younkin is Professor of Neuroscience at Mayo Clinic’s campus in Jacksonville, Florida. […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: AAIC, Alzheimer's, Alzheimer's disease, Florida, Lifetime Achievement Award, Matthew Clark PhD, neuroscience, Research, Steven Younkin

June 19th, 2014 · Leave a Comment

Mayo Clinic Plastic Surgery Resident Wins 1st Prize for Best Clinical Research Presentation

By Bob Nellis

Mayo Clinic plastic surgery resident Sebastian Winocour, M.D., has won first prize for Best Clinical Research Presentation at the Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons  annual meeting in Chicago. Dr. Winocour presented findings of a Mayo surgical quality improvement study aimed at preventing the death of skin on the breast, called breast skin necrosis, after mastectomy with […]

View full entry · Comment on this

Tags: Amy Degnim, Breast Cancer, breast cancer reconstruction, breast reconstruction, mastectomy, Matthew Clark PhD, necrosis, Sebastian Winocour, Surgery, surgical outcomes, Valerie Lemaine

September 19th, 2013 · Leave a Comment

Mayo Receives Federal Award to Launch Radiation Safety Clearinghouse

By Admin

Mayo Clinic radiology researcher Cynthia McCollough, Ph.D., and her team were awarded a four-year grant from the National Institutes of Health that will allow Mayo to establish a national clearinghouse for CT dose reduction research. Dr. McCollough is internationally known for her work in limiting radiation exposure to patients. She is head of Mayo’s CT Clinical […]

View full entry · Comment on this