Advancing the Science

Mayo Clinic Medical Science Blog

Share this:
January 6, 2012

Rajiv Kumar, M.D. Receives 2012 John Phillips Memorial Award

By anonymous-49785

A huge congratulations goes out to Rajiv Kumar, M.D., a consultant in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension Departments of Internal Medicine, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Mayo Clinic’s campus in Rochester, Minn. Dr. Kumar is the 2012 recipient of the John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine. This award is given by the American College of Physicians (ACP) and is one of the most prestigious awards in the field of internal medicine.

In case you were interested in knowing a little bit more about this highly esteemed award, it was established by the ACP Board of Regents in 1929, honoring the late Dr. John Phillips, a governor and regent of the ACP, who died in a fire at the Cleveland Clinic. The award is bestowed for outstanding work in clinical medicine, which includes all phases of clinical research or practice of medicine.

Dr. Kumar joins a list of amazing recipients, including three previous Mayo Clinic award winners: Nobel Prize recipient Edward C. Kendall, Ph.D. (1950), Jesse L. Bollman, M.D. (1964), and Earl Howard Wood, M.D., Ph.D. (1983).

If you'd like more information about the ACP and the John Phillips Memorial Award, visit

Congratulations, Dr. Kumar!

Doctor Rajiv Kumar

Rajiv Kumar, M.D., 2012 John Phillips Memorial Award Recipient

Tags: American College of Physicians, Awards, awards, biochemistry, endocrinology, John Phillips Memorial Award, Mayo Clinic, nephrology, People, Rajiv Kumar, research awards


Please login or register to post a comment.
Contact Us · Privacy Policy